No, this is a “self-guided” paddle. Guests are reminded to turn LEFT at all potential intersections on the river. It is a very easy paddle experience.
No, Paddling Adventures canoes and kayak are very easy to use. The Weeki Wachee River is very easy to navigate even for the very beginning paddler.
A swimsuit, hat, water-shoes, suntan lotion, and insect repellent (if sensitive to insects). In addition, rain gear (if rain is expected) and a jacket for the cooler months.
A towel. A soft-sided thermo bag with plenty of water (recommend three water bottles per person in the summer months), snacks or lunch, and camera (don’t want to miss that picture of grandma in the kayak!). A dry bag or box is good to have for your cell phone or remote control car keys. A double sealed bag is a good alternative. Please don’t forget the plastic bag for your trash.
The following items are not allowed on the Weeki Wachee River: no alcoholic beverages, no pets, no inflatable inner tubes, rafts or similar flotation devices(inflatable kayaks or boats that are USCG approved are permitted only after Paddling Adventures staff inspection), no motorized vessels of any type, no styrofoam or glass items, and no fireworks.
Put on protective rain gear (rain poncho is best) and keep on paddling. Canoes or kayaks will not be rented during severe weather conditions.
The best course of action is to pull over to the nearest accessible shore. Pull your kayak or canoe up on to the shore so it does not float away. Leave your paddles in the kayak/canoe. Crouch low to the ground and do NOT huddle together. Stay a few feet apart from each other. As soon as you feel the lightning is past resume your paddle.
Yes, after you leave the protected area of Weeki Wachee Springs State Park which is about 20 minutes after you launch.
Yes, but don’t expect to see them. They are there, but prefer to stay in the marsh areas where guests do not paddle.
No, with the exception of service animals.
No, only approved USCG inflatable kayaks or boats. A Paddling Adventures staff member must inspect the inflatable prior to launch.
Yes, launch fees are the same as other private kayaks and canoes ($6 +tax).. Paddle boards must be accompanied with a PFD (life jacket) and sound producing device.
Yes, though they must be USCG approved. A Paddling Adventures staff member must inspect the vessel before it can be launched.
No. Electric or gas powered motorized vessels can not be launched at Weeki Wachee Springs State Park.
In accordance with the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) and Chapter 780, Part I, Florida Statutes, the “Florida Civil Rights Act”, Paddling Adventures is committed to providing accessible facilities, programs and services for all people, including those with disabilities to participate in and enjoy canoeing and kayaking. We welcome your call prior to your visit at 352-597-8484, so that we may assist and safely include everyone to the best of our ability.
Guests who arrive at the pick-up point after 5p.m. will be charged a $50 per boat per hour late fee. Exceptions are made due to inclement weather conditions.
Yes, our Paddling Adventures Manager is an ACA Certified Instructor. Contact him for further information @ (352) 597-8484